And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

£9.9
FREE Shipping

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

This is a masterpiece. Elegantly written. I will be buying a copy to put away for when my young children are old enough to understand. An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down, from an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla. Yet somehow, despite this incredibly heavy subject matter, Jawando still manages to retain messages of hope, redemption and fresh starts. This was beautifully written, Nathans voice is quirky, honest and strong, taking the reader into his heart and into the heart of his lost brother. As the reality of Al’s struggle emerges it is horrifically sad and massively thought provoking, making you wish so many things about our world were different. Danielle Jawando has beautifully channelled her own trials as a teenager into a heartbreaking book for the teens of today. Her perfect understanding of the risks of social media in the 2020s make it relatable and believable.

And The Stars Were Burning Brightly is ultimately a book about hope....and acceptance. Thank you so much to NetGalley, the publishers and Danielle Jawando for allowing me to read and recommend this well written novel. Al was special. Al was talented. Al had so many dreams ... so why did he do it? Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al's footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive. Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al's death when they eventually discover what happened?

About Danielle Jawando

Described as ‘An outstanding and compassionate debut’ by Patrice Lawrence, Danielle Jawando’s YA novel And The Stars Were Burning Brightly is an extraordinary novel about loss, love and the power of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down. In this interview, Danielle tells us about the inspiration behind her book, and the importance of writing about this difficult subject matter. Each chapter starts with a short section from Al’s point of view, and both Nate and Megan think about him constantly. Because of this, he feels completely present in the story, so much so that I almost expected him to chime in at certain moments. It really put me in a similar place to the two protagonists, of not quite being able to accept that Al was gone, and that was a really interesting experience. This is an appalling story. Because although it is fiction, it is a fictionalized version of truth. A truth that the talented young author of this novel went through herself.

I think this story will definitely open a lot of eyes and I think this needs to be read by every young person. Al's story is not only important but something that happens to a lot of people. This book made me so angry and sad but I'm so happy that I read it because it just further reinstates the notion that books like this one need to exist. It was also important for me to have both Nate and Megan narrate the story, not just because of who they are, but because of their very different experiences of grief. Megan has already been through the grieving process, so we see her deal with Al’s death in a more positive way, whereas when we meet Nathan, he is consumed with guilt and anger. Megan’s voice is much more hopeful, so I think that they both provide a good balance when it comes to exploring the themes in the book. The story weaves between Nate, who found his brother Al's body and Megan, Al's friend. We learn what Al's death means to his family and his peer group and how they deal with it. As is so often the case Nate cannot understand why his brother, a straight A student and a brilliant artist would choose to end his life. The search for the truth that follows is a difficult and often harrowing journey for them both. Danielle Jawanda expertly uses her own experiences as she shows us the ugly side of social media, the uncertainty of todays youth and the continual quest to fit in and not to be seen as different.Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks. Home > I think of how me and Al had had a row that morning. How he'd called me after school and I'd cut him off. Ignored his call, then turned my phone to silent. All cause I wanted him to stop bothering me and piss off. All cause I was having too much fun, drinking and smoking in the park. All cause I wanted to stay with Kyle and these two fit girls we were with. An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down, from an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla. About This Edition ISBN:

Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al’s footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive. Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al’s death when they eventually discover what happened? #BurnBright Afterwards, these two police officers had come round to get me to give a statement to explain what happened. ' Routine,' they'd said. ' To establish that Al's death was an accident.' When fifteen-year-old Nathan discovers that his older brother Al, has taken his own life, his whole world is torn apart. Al was special. Nathan was the brother, grieving his older sibling and questioning everything; he needed the why to these events, some reason and he was determined. Alongside Nathan were family, other siblings, his mother, his friend, Al’s friend Megan and some nasty characters. This was a intricately woven story, where as the reader you were alongside Nathan, searching for answers.I like how Danielle Jawando explored difficult topics that are very important today and shows how hard it would be for family and friends to cope after someone died by suicide, and how bullying can cause someone to feel alone and scared, and could potentially lead them to suicide. I enjoyed how the story switched between the perspective of Nate and Megan, and through the story you got to see some of Al’s thoughts that led him to suicide while Nate tries to figure out what happened for himself. Nathan wants to work out why his brother would take such drastic measures without asking him for help. Nathan has to deal with all kinds of emotions such as guilt, anger, despair and grief to try to try to understand why Al did it. He meets Al’s friend from school Megan who too wants to find out what happened and is desperate to keep Al’s memory alive. The book switches between Megan and Nathan’s POV. There is at the start of each chapter a short monologue from Al which was written so beautifully that you will want to keep rereading each passage over and over again. This is a story about love, loss, family and friends. I loved that it was set in Manchester and I already knew of many of the places mentioned. Although I've never been keen on writing a dialect with an accent. Written mainly from the perspective of Nate but with paragraphs from Al at the beginning of each chapter he book delves deep into both the feelings of Al and also those he left behind. As the truth reveals itself the full horror of "social" media bullying is brought to the forefront And the Stars Were Burning Brightly is a tragically emotional story about a boy learning to cope after his older brother, Al, unexpectedly dies by suicide. It is set in the perspective of Nate, Al’s younger brother, and Megan, Al’s only friend.

LoveReading4Kids exists because books change lives, and buying books through LoveReading4Kids means you get to change the lives of future generations, with 25% of the cover price donated to schools in need. Join our community to get personalised book suggestions, extracts straight to your inbox, 10% off RRPs, and to change children’s lives. Born in Manchester, Danielle Jawando’s previous publications and broadcasting credits have included a short story Paradise 703, which was published by DeadInk in 2012 (longlisted for the Finishing Line Press Award in 2011). She has also had several short plays performed in Manchester and London. In 2015, she worked on Coronation Street as a storyline writer and in 2017, her short story The Deerstalker was selected as one of the six finalists for the We Need Diverse Books short story competition. This was a heartbreaking, though provoking, beautiful story about some horrible issues but which are so relevant today. I listen to the sound of Phoebe's breathing till she falls asleep, her head resting on my arm. I close my eyes and try not to think of Al, or how I'd let him down.

Then he started telling me that there was no point in having stars on the ceiling if they didn't look like the real thing, and he kept going on about all these names. Saying how there was some star named after this guy called Ryan, and how everything was shaped like his belt.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop